What's the Next Generation of 401(k) Litigation

Legal News Updates Posted on

The Supreme Court's LaRue Decision
April 8, 2008

Location
90-minute Teleconference
1:00-2:30 pm ET / 12:00 pm -1:30 pm CT / 11:00 am-12:30 pm MT / 10:00 am-11:30 am PT
Nationwide, District of Columbia
United States of America

Description
Moderator: Karen Handorf, Cohen Milstein Hausfeld & Toll PLLC. Panelists: Bob Eccles, O'Melveny & Myers LLP; Tim Hauser, Department of Labor; Mary Ellen Signorille, AARP.

The Supreme Court’s decision in LaRue v. DeWolff, Boberg & Associates, Inc. makes it clear that a single participant can bring a fiduciary breach claim on behalf of a defined contribution plan, even if the losses relate only to that participant’s account. However, with two concurring opinions, the LaRue decision leaves many unanswered questions. Our panel of experienced ERISA litigators will discuss how the LaRue decision is likely to impact future 401(k) plan litigation. Topics will include: Do participants have to exhaust administrative remedies; Are fiduciary claims in defined contribution plans really benefit claims; What actions should 401k plans take to lessen the possibility of lawsuits; Can former participants bring suit if they’ve gotten a distribution;

Additional Information
What are the implications of LaRue for other types of plans; What types of claims & equitable remedies will be available under Section 502 (a)(3); Will this case impact issues surrounding auto-enrollment & investment advice; Who's liable if participant's investment instructions aren't followed.

Contact
Ms. Mary Karounos
Phone: 202-662-8676
Email: karounom@staff.abanet.org

Legal News Media

Legal News Organization press is the top headline legal news provider for lawyers and legalprofessionals. Read law articles and breaking news from law firm's across the United States to get the latest updates. The content contained on the web site has been prepared by Legal News Media as a service to the internet
community and is not intended to constitute legal advice or a substitute for consultation with a licensed legal professional in a particular case or circumstance.

 

www.legal-news.org

 

American Bar Association – Start and Run a Law Firm

NewYorkStateBar.com – Starting a Law Firm

Lawyer Web Direct

CPA Website Designs